Which countries have not ratified the Paris climate agreement?

More than five years after the Paris Agreement was adopted, four of 197 signatories have not formally backed the deal. Turkey and Iraq are the latest countries to ratify

The Eiffel Tower in Paris, illuminated in green to celebrate the entry into force of the Paris Agreement, the most ambitious climate change agreement in history, on November 4, 2016 (Photo: Jean-Baptiste Gurliat/ Mairie de Paris)


Two large oil exporting nations are among four countries that have not yet ratified the 2015 Paris climate agreement. 

Iran and Libya – both among the 14-member Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (Opec) – as well as Yemen and Eritrea have not ratified the agreement.

The deal has been formally endorsed by 193 of 197 nations, including all G20 countries. Turkey and Iraq signed up in late 2021.

The US withdrew from the agreement under president Donald Trump, with effect from November 2020. His successor Joe Biden rejoined the pact on his first day in office, 20 January 2021, and formally re-entered the global treaty 30 days later.

South Sudan, the world’s newest country which is torn by conflict, ratified the deal on 23 February 2021.

Before that, Angola ratified on 12 August 2020, Kyrgyzstan on 18 February and Lebanon on 5 February.

Climate news in your inbox? Sign up here

The four countries yet to ratify the accord account for around 2% of global greenhouse gas emissions, according to the European Commission’s emissions database.

Iran (1.85%) is currently the top emitter among the nations that have not yet ratified. The others represent a far smaller share of global emissions: Eritrea (0.01%), Libya (0.14%), and Yemen (0.03%).

International agreements are initially signed to signal intent to comply, but only become binding through ratification. That can take an act of parliament or some other formal acceptance. Different countries have different processes. Former US President Barack Obama used disputed executive powers to ratify the Paris accord in 2016.

Once ratified, the agreement commits governments to submit their plans to cut emissions. Ultimately they will have to do their bit to keep global temperatures well below 2C above pre-industrial times and to “pursue efforts” to limit them further to 1.5C.

“Oil has been an important factor for economic security for several of these countries,” David Waskow, of the World Resources Institute think-tank in Washington, told CHN, noting common interests of both Opec nations and the US, the world’s top oil producer.

Big emitter yet to ratify:


As a major producer of oil and natural gas exporter, Iran’s energy sector accounts for around 77% of its total emissions. Despite its fossil fuel empire, the country has developed a renewable energy industry thanks to a number of national plans and funds.

In November 2015, it pledged to reduce its emissions by 4% by 2030, compared to a business as usual scenario. Its national plan said cutting greenhouse gas emissions “will be facilitated and speeded up, only in the absence of any forms of restrictions and sanctions.”

Iran’s reluctance to ratify stems largely from its dependence on oil, complicated by the collapse of the July 2015 nuclear deal between Tehran and other major powers led by Washington.

Windmills in Manjeel, Iran (Photo: Ali Madjfar)

This article was updated on 07 October 2021 after Turkey ratified the agreement and on 3 November 2021 after Iraq ratified the agreement. 

Read more on: Climate politics | Paris Agreement | UN climate talks | World